Warriors upset in Section Championship Game

by Head Coach Jim Erzar

The Deer River Warrior baseball team went into the Section Championship game last Thursday, June 8th, with a 21-2 record and needed only one win to claim the Section championship but Ely defeated the Warriors twice at Wade Stadium in Duluth to capture the 2017 Section 7A Championship. The Warriors fell behind early in both games but rallied in each only to fall short, losing 12-7 in the first game and 9-6 in the second game, leaving the bases loaded in the 7th inning. The Warriors had reached the championship game with an exciting 8-6 with over South Ridge in last Tuesday’s game between the two unbeaten teams remaining in the Section. Ely defeated South Ridge 5-4 later Tuesday evening to get to the Championship game through the losers bracket. The Warriors have been in the Section Championship game five times in the last nine years winning titles in 2010, 2011 and again in 2015 when seven of the current seniors started as sophomores. This was obviously a disappointing ending to a very good year for the Warriors.The content you are trying to access is only available to members. Sorry.

Subscribe Now or Login